Guelph General Meeting

As a Registered Liberal, you’re invited to attend the General Meeting of the Guelph Federal Liberal Association.

As you may know, the general meeting for your local Liberal Electoral District Association (EDA) originally scheduled for March 18th 2020, had been postponed in light of evolving public health guidance.

Instead, the meeting will be held virtually on

December 14th, 2020 6:00 PM

In order to be eligible to attend the meeting and to be eligible to vote, if positions are contested, you must register to attend and be sent your login details. Please do so by filling out this form by no later than December 7th, 2020.

Register to Attend  


If you would like to hold a position on the EDA board of directors, you must submit your intent to stand to the National Returning Officer through this Online Form by no later than November 30th 2020.

The roles opened for Intents to Stand are:

  • Director-at-Large

Descriptions for each of these roles are outlined in section 6.1 of the Liberal Party of Canada’s EDA by-law, here. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at, or by phone at 1-888-LIBERAL.

In order to vote, individuals must be registered as a Liberal by no later than December 7th, 2020.*

Thanks for your support and involvement,

Sam Bhalesar-Saran
Party Secretary, Liberal Party of Canada

*for an application submitted by an online form via the Liberal Party website. Applications submitted on a paper form shall be considered eligible if the form is received no later than 5:00 PM Eastern Time of the cut-off date to be eligible to vote.


  1. Call to Order
  2. Approval of agenda
  3. Approval of previous meeting minutes
  4. Presentation of Reports
  5. Speeches for contested positions
  6. Any Other Business
  7. Adjournment

Position Name (First) Name (Last)
Chair Brent McArthur
Vice-Chair Brian de Alwis
Secretary Mary Simpson
Policy Chair Joanna Valeriote
Organization Chair Andrew Doherty
Director-at-Large Inderjit Arora
Director-at-Large Barbara Aucoin
Director-at-Large Syed J Islam
Director-at-Large Gordon McDonald
Director-at-Large Idris Mohammed
Director-at-Large Akifa Habibullah